Bedford Primary School

Dream, Believe, Aspire

Contact Us
  Term Dates
  Bedford Worry Box


Bedford Primary Governors


Being a Governor is a very important role and means making decisions which benefit the children, families and staff at our school. It is an experience which is enriching, rewarding, fulfilling and educating. Governors come from a wide source of people in the community, parents, teachers, the local authority and the general community.


Often Governors are approached at the request of the Headteacher. However as Parent/Staff Governor vacancies arise notice is given across the school community, any person wishing to put themselves forward goes through an election process at which all families/staff have the opportunity to vote. Upon election, the Governor is in office for 4 years, unless they resign from the position. All Governors have full voting rights and Governors are elected annually onto committees at the first full Governing Board meeting each new academic year.


Our Governors meet at least once a term as a full Governing Board and discuss a wide range of issues that can impact on the school. Topics on the agenda can include measuring school performance, discussing the latest views on educational content from the government department, receiving reports from subject leaders regarding initiatives and hearing about the school’s successes.

The total number of Governors at Bedford Primary is 11. Our Governing Board consists of:

‚Äča) 2 Parent Governors

b) 1 Staff Governor

c) 1 Headteacher Governor

d) 6 Co-opted Governors

e) 1 Associate Governor


Bedford Primary School List of Governors

Mr Allan Jones 


Co-opted Governor

Term of office expires 10.10.26

Rev. Josie Williams

Co-opted Governor


Term of office expires 4.2.25

Mrs Stephanie Wardale


Co-opted Governor

Term of office expires 23.5.26

Mrs Cherith Hancock

Co-opted Governor

Term of office expires 10.10.26

Miss Laura Doherty

Staff Governor

Term of office expires 9.10.27

Mrs Ruth Braithwaite


Mrs Andrea Watts

Co-opted Governor

Term of office expires 22.1.28

Mrs Alena Elicerova

Parent Governor

Term of office expires 27.2.27

Mrs Wenda Linden

Co-opted Governor

Term of office expires 10.10.26

Mr Dave Clare 

 Parent Governor

Term of office expires 10.10.25

Miss Amy Wishart 

Associate Governor

Term of office expires 10.10.26


Register Of School Governor Business Interests